High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

Type 1 Diabetic

I've been a diabetic for years and I'm one of the lucky ones who has an insulin pump Smile

I'm new to being pregnant, and so far my sugars have been great (I try to keep them as normal as possible).  But I would love to hear how other parents did with being a type 1 diabetic and pregnant....  I have many concerns due to my diabetes and I dont want to harm the future baby.  I know that many things are at risk - ie. miscarriage, fetal development, preterm labor, etc.  I would just love to hear other mom stories and how they dealt with pregnancy!  And I wish/hope to have the pregnancy that most people get to have and enjoy Smile

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Type 1 Diabetic

• Options
    I have been a type 1 diabetic for 5 years, and on an insulin pump since last April.  With my first pregnancy, my insulin requirements went way down in the beginning, and of course went way up by the end of pregnancy.  This time, my insulin requirements went up right away, but then dropped back down, and have started to go up again now.  I have been in contact with my endo clinic weekly, and keeping my blood sugars under tight control.  So far everything with baby looks good!  Last time I developed severe pre-e at 37 weeks.  This time, they are keeping a very close eye on my blood pressure, which so far has been in great range! 
  • Options