Parenting after a Loss
Options

BFing mommas...any tips for when I go back to work?

I got back to work on March 18th.  Any tips/tricks you have that made pumping at work, and if you found a schedule that worked would be greatly appreciated!  I'm planning on feeding (if C is up before I leave) or pumping (if he's not) in the mornings.  I know I can for sure pump during my lunch, and I can probable squeeze another quick session in too, it depends on the day (I'm a speech therapist in an elementary school, so my schedule is different every day).  How many times during your work day do you pump?  I leave my house no later than 7am and the earliest I would ever be able to pick him up from daycare would be just before 4pm, so that is 9 hours.  The past few days he has eaten 3 times during those hours, so am I best off to pump 3 times?  I don't know if I can do that : (  I want to do a couple practice days before I head back...

Re: BFing mommas...any tips for when I go back to work?

• Options

Well I've only been back 2 days but here are some ideas.

I feed Cora early in the morning (b/t 5 and 6) and leave for work at 7.  I pump 3 times at work - 8 a.m., 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.  I get Cora from day care b/t 4:30 - 5:00 and nurse her at pickup or as soon as I get home (they have a quiet room with a rocking chair there).

Some ways to save time:  Keep your pump parts in the fridge in a ziplock bag b/t pumping sessions.. this will eliminate the need to wash them every time.  Or, use the Medela quick clean wipes (Lansinoh makes them too) they are safe to use instead of soap and water, bleach free etc.  I use them and love them.  You can also use them to clean your hands before pumping if you are in a hurry.