Attachment Parenting

Question about AP

I'm new to the ideas of AP and am still researching what might work for us. All I know is what we're doing now is NOT working. DD is a very high energy, high needs, ultra-sensitive, non-adaptable baby. She is such a pleasure when happy, but when she's not, she's, well... frightening. I'm wondering if some of the AP principles might help with these lows. Our days are a series of coos, smiles and sweetness, but that can instantly turn to all-out banshee screaming over the tiniest issue. We call her our light switch baby.

I guess my main questions are: Is there such thing as too late for AP? Would I be confusing her if we all the sudden tried to implement some of these things? Is there a way to "partially" AP? (I ask this last one because BF was a huge fail for us - but that's a whole other issue.)

I'm sorry if this sounds ridiculous and rambling, but I'm pretty overwhelmed. I just want DH and I to be better, more responsive, more useful parents. DD deserves it. TIA.

BFP #1: 7-26-08, natural m/c 6w4d; BFP #2: 12-6-08, natural m/c 6w5d
BFP #3: 2-26-09; DD born 10/30/09; 7lb3oz, 20.5in!
Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers
BFP= #4: 9-8-13, hcg @ 14dpo: 507, 17dpo: 1731, doubling: 39 hours
Found a strong hb @ 5w6d; Measuring 4 days ahead, hb of 168 @ 8w4d!
So excited for Baby Sister! EDD: 5/24/14
Lilypie Maternity tickers

Re: Question about AP

• I don't think that it is ever "too late" to want to be more responsive to your baby's cues.  And, not breastfeeding does not make you AP Lite!  There are plenty of moms who are unable to breastfeed, adopted a child, or are foster parents who are AP!