Parenting after 35

Did you fulfill the.. "What do you want to be when you grow up?"

Did you end up living your dreams - job, life, etc? Would you do anything different?

Re: Did you fulfill the.. "What do you want to be when you grow up?"

• Not even a little bit....I would absolutely do things differently but I am not sure how or what. Sadly at 37 I still have no idea what I want to do with my life career wise. The 21 year old me would be really disappointed in the now me. ( other than fletcher and DH of course). I am thinking about going back to school to get yet another degree......not sure though.
  • I got my degree in Broadcasting and worked for 20-some years in television news.  Lived my dream of working in a top 20 market.  An amazing time and incredible experiences, but by my late 30s, it was fast becoming apparent that I needed to do something else.  As I grew older, I became more disillusioned with the business and the politics of it all.  Not to mention the direction the modern day media is taking.  But I digress!

Always dreamed I'd find my "Mr. Right."  A lot of praying and patience finally paid off and I'm very fortunate to have met my husband.  I'm now surprised to find I'm a SAHM.   NOT what I envisioned, but I'm incredibly thankful that I married a man who is smart, well educated and well employed so that I can stay home with the baby.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • I'm doing the job I wanted (I would love to see exotics but doing shelter medicine is a fine trade-off for me), have a great man and amazing friends, live in a fantastic city, started a family when I wasn't sure we would be able to - I have so much to be thankful for. I am really excited that the end of his training is just 2 years and 3 months away...and with it finally comes financial security (a house, a car that isn't a piece of crap - it's just stuff but, well, you know...).