1st Trimester

Admitting to pregnancy in a job interview?

I'm an out of work teacher, looking to get back into the classroom next school year. I just found out that I'm pregnant and due 10/23, which is PLENTY of time to start the school year, establish rules, and have a succesful transition to the sub (my first kid was born 10/2 and I had no problems). I've been applying for jobs and will hopefully start getting some interviews soon. Is it wrong to hide my "condition" until after I've been offered a job? The first time around, I hid it until the end of the school year, when they renewed my contract, but I had already been at that school for several months. I don't know if any school would want to hire someone they know they will lose (temporarily) early in the year... however, assuming I interview in the next few months, I wouldn't be ready to tell random strangers anyway! What do you think?

Re: Admitting to pregnancy in a job interview?

• Don't admit to anything.  Unless you're obviously showing...

You are under no legal obligation to tell them and they're not supposed to ask or discriminate against you.

However, if you were completely equal to another applicant and they knew you were pregnant, odds are they would give the job to the non-pregnant applicant.

Good luck!

• Not wrong at all!  My friend is a school psychologist and had a due date of early Feb.  She waited until she was 20-22 weeks before she told them.  She was hired in August and wanted to prove herself.  They had no problems with her maternity leave.

Good luck!

• Loading the player...
  • Having known a lot of teachers, and also the fact that SO is a teacher, maybe you can do long-term subbing or something until the second half of the school year?