D.C. Area Babies
Options

First day back at work...

Hi ladies! I introduced myself a few weeks ago. Tomorrow is my first day back at work, time sure has flown by! I'm a teacher and tomorrow is a teacher workday in my county, which is such a nice way to start back. Just wanted to see if anyone had any advice about being back at work/pumping at work. I've had some supply issues lately so have been taking Fenugreek for a few days, seems to be helping some. His grandmas are watching him the next 2 weeks so I have 2 more weeks before actual daycare. I love my job, but this is going to be a hard adjustment...

Thanks for any advice. Oh, and I finally figured out how to put a picture in my signature, so there's my little guy!

Pregnancy Ticker Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Re: First day back at work...

• Options

Good luck! I'm also a teacher (FCPS - happy teacher work day!).  My experience going back to work has been a tough transition.  As you know, teachers do ALOT for their students and spend a TON of time planning.  I feel like I don't have enough time to do thorough planning/prep AND be a great mom/wife.  Something had to give.  I decided that my family is most important and that is where I need to focus.  So my poor students don't get the most exciting lessons sometimes.  I also have a really difficult group of kids this year, which has made the transition MUCH harder.  I hope that you are able to do it all and do it well.  But if not, just know that you are in good company.

As for pumping, I don't have any experience with that (DS was FF), but lots of moms at my school lock their classroom door, cover the window in the door, put a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, and pump while the kiddos are at specials.  One of my co-workers pumped in her car b/c she felt like it was WAY more sanitary than her classroom.  Probably true. 

• Options