Parenting
Options

Family medical leave act?

Hey ladies...I haven't posted in forever.  I hope all of you are doing well.  I had a quick question that I was hoping someone would know the answer to. I've been working at my new job for 6 months.  I get 7 paid days off a year. DH had knee surgery last Thursday and after spending the night at Children's hospital, the doctors have decided to put tubes in his ears due to a severe ear infection that has lasted over a month and failed to respond to antibiotics.  He goes in for his pre-op tomorrow and surgery on Wednesday. His fever has remained high.  I called my HR manager and she said that this may not be a serious enough case to qualify for a week unpaid due to family medical leave.  I don't have enough paid days off accumulated to take the whole week off, and I have no one to take care of my kids with my husband completely immobile.  Do you think this case is enough to qualify to use a week of FML leave?  Thank you so much for your advice. 

Re: Family medical leave act?

• Options
    EMTEMT member

Hi there!  The kids are so cute and big!!

I would think your DH having surgery would be serious enough to qualify for FML???  I mean it can be used to take care of a healthy newborn?  DH took some time off under FML when DS was born.  I think there is a wait week with FML though (i.e. the first week is unpaid).  So, maybe that wouldn't help?

• Options

Hey! How are you?  Your babies are so big and adorable!  I would love to meet up again.  I keep meaning to email you, but I lost your email address. How have you been? At this point, I'm not even concerned about the paid leave.  I would just rather take a week unpaid without them giving me a hard time about it or making me use any paid day off.  I have 3 days accumulated, but DH and I were planning on using it to go on a vacation for our anniversary.  There's no way that I'm going to go to work though while DS is in the hospital.

• Loading the player...
  • Options