Georgia Babies

Anyone use freepeats?

I'm a fan of Baby Cheapskate on FB and they just posted someone has a free Maclaren umbrella stroller up for grabs on the Atlanta Freepeats board!  I joined and contacted the seller, so I have no idea if I got it or not.  There's no "reply" button on the forum so I have no idea how it all works.  Anyone familiar with it?

Re: Anyone use freepeats?

• I have never used it before but it is my understanding that you have to offer something on freepeats before you can claim something.  I could be wrong but this is the reason I have not used it b/c I have nothing to offer yet.

photo bigsister032_zps1fdfe81e.jpgLilypie Pregnancy tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • kepkep member

I don't like freepeats. I signed up for it a few years ago because the concept seemed neat to me. I gave away a nice stereo. Granted, it was older, but it worked great and was $$$ (just big and bulky and we didn't have room for it anymore). You should have seen the responses I got within a minute. It was like vultures. Then, it was a total PITA to coordinate pickup with the person who was the first to respond. (I didn't want someone to know where I lived, so we had to figure out a meeting place and then he was late, etc., etc., etc.) TOTAL PITA. In the end, I don't even think he said thank you. I soon realized it is MUCH better to give things to Goodwill or another charity that perhaps has a store. That way, you can get a tax receipt at least.

A friend of mine (in another city) has used freepeats a lot. She has been stood up by people who don't come and pick up what they claim on the board. I guess people don't appreciate stuff enough when they don't have to pay for it. I would much rather give to a charity than to random people who may or may not come and get the stuff and who may or may not appreciate it. Sorry, I guess this has turned into a rant. Not a freepeats fan here. :o)