Health & Exercise

Need help with running shoes.

So I've been walking/jogging for the past month or so. Nothing crazy just about 3miles a day. I'm a beginner at all of this but would love to do this everyday. I have a pair of running shoes but I get a huge blister on the back of my right heel every time. I wear a size 8-8.5. These particular shoes are 8.5's. I know my right foot is a tad bit smaller than my left but how do I stop this? I've tried putting large circular cosmetic sponges in the right shoe but they slip out. Any advice is helpful. Also how can I increase my endurance and push for actual running? Thanks ladies! 

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers

Re: Need help with running shoes.

• I've heard really good things about the couch to 5k program, if you google it you should be able to find a training plan.  I'm not sure on the shoes, could they be too wide for your feet?  Did you get fitted for running shoes at a specialty store?
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Thank you I'm reading up on the couch to 5k now. Sounds like what I need! As for the shoes, they're just reg nike running shoes from Kohls, a year or two old. They're fine to wear as long as I don't jog in them. :( I don't think they're too wide. 

• Loading the player...
  • Definitely agree on getting fitted at a proper running store.

I have the exact same size feet (left bigger), and always buy my running shoes in a size 9 as your feet swell when you exercise.  I also highly recommend socks that are not made with cotton.  The synthetic socks are much better at preventing blisters - most running stores will have these too.  You could also put some running lubricant on the blister prone part of your foot before running/walking, but vaseline also does the trick for less money.

Happy Trails!

• imageilmatrimonio:

Definitely agree on getting fitted at a proper running store.