Babies: 0 - 3 Months

Nipple Shield Issues (please help!)

I was given a nipple shield in the hospital by the lactation consultant because I have extremely flat nipples. Now 2 home healthcare nurses have told me I need to get off the nipple shield as soon as possible.

What are your opinions on this? Even after I pump before I feed, my nipples still don't stick out very far and DS doesn't want to latch at all. He perfers the nipple shield so I don't see the problem. He feeds like a champ, what do you think?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Nipple Shield Issues (please help!)

• I have been using one for about 2 months now, we have the same issues that you have, LO has such a hard time latching without it and gets so worked up when we try to nurse without it.  I don't see the harm in using it as long as LO is gaining weight.  I get LO weighed every couple weeks to make sure that she is gaining weight properly.
  • I use one due to flat nipples. In my opinion, I would rather nurse with a shield than give it up completely. Maybe that is wrong, but it works for us.
  • Loading the player...
  • what's the argument against the shield?

To me, if it's working for you and your LO is gaining properly/eating well, then I'd stick with what's working.

• I was given one as well by my LC.  She said it was ok to use it for a few more weeks and once he got bigger he would most likely latch without it. It definitely helped to get him to latch, but I was afraid that he would get too used to it, so I started alternating between using it and not.  He is finally just now latching without it.  However, there are times when he still gets frantic and the shield helps him get right on.  If it works for you, I say keep using it, but do try and see how he does without it sometimes too.  Good luck!

Have you tried the Lanisoh Latch Assist to help bring your nipple out?  I have that as well.