Special Needs

Spina Bifida

We found out today our little boy has Spina Bifida.  After a tragic last pregnancy, we were so excited this time and feel devastated.  We don't know all the details yet, only that things could be very bad.  Anyone with experience, successes?  So scared of what this means.

Re: Spina Bifida

• I have no personal experience, but i wanted to say that your family will be in my thoughts.

I can only share that there is a little girl in my son's class who has spina bifida. She is a beautiful and smart little girl. She does not have much use of her legs, but does wear braces and sometimes uses a walker. I have no idea what she has been through to get to where she is today, but she is only 2. She also wears glasses but idk if that is related.

GL to you!

• Oh no! I am so sorry.

I don't have a LO with Spina Bifida but this board is a great place to express your fears, sadness and find some good support.

I hope you find some positive answers and that your little boy surpasses any expectations. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • a good friend of mine's son has sb.  doctors told them he would never walk...well he's walking-with braces, but he's walking.  he's a smart kid with a lot of personality.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BFP 3/9/12 Natural M/C 4/11/12

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I know a little... I'm assuming you are talking Myelomeningocele (Spina bifida)? I have occulta (the mildest form) but have a lot of friends with Myelomeningocele. I actually play wheelchair tennis with a 12 year old with it. :]

If you're on facebook, I know a woman in FL that would probably be more than willing to talk to you that has Myelomeningocele. She is very involved in the spina bifida community. :]