Special Needs
Options

transitioning to school district and IEP help

My 2 year old is about to transition to the school district in a month and we have an IEP meeting next week. I'm new to all this and was wondering if anyone can help me with goals or what I should be asking from the school. My son was dx with PDD-NOS and has expressive speech delay. Behaviors are not much of an issue for us. We would like our son to talk clearly more intelligible. He speaks alot of jargon. We want him to be able to learn and say his alphabet and same with numbers. Do the things a typical 3 year can do.  Are main goal is for our son to talk.

What should I ask for from the school and what goals should I ask?

I am new to this so all the help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Re: transitioning to school district and IEP help

• Options
    Is next week your actual IEP meeting, or is it an evaluation day, observation etc??? What has the process looked like for you so far? 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

We are going for the IEP meeting, we already had the evaluation and results meeting. They qualified him for services based on speech delay in expressive. They will accept the PDD-NOS dx but we need to complete an applied behavioral assessment packet which needs to be reviewed by their psychologist.

This is not an integrated preschool at this time. They said they do have 1 or 2 that are typical children in the class but its not a fully integrated class. The neuro/psych dr who dx my son said he would like to see him in an integrated class but if the district doesn't offer it take what we can get, its better than none at all.

He is actually receiving 1 hr a week of ST. 1hr a week with an educator- who in my opinion doesn't do anything productive. and 10 hrs a week with a para professional working mainly on speech. its not really 10hrs since she likes to take days off and come late and leave early kind of thing. but anyway,