Special Needs

Need advice for a friend

A good friend called today b/c she was upset over something that happened with her DD and wasn't sure how to handle it.  I'm not sure either, so thought I would get some opinions here.

My friends DD is 4.5 and has sever ASD (non-verbal, stimming,etc.).  They were at a MOM's Club playdate today and another little girl the same age announced that she didn't want to play with my friends daughter.  I'm not sure what happened after that but my friend wants to say something to the girls mom (who is a friend of hers also) but is not sure what to say.

I know kids at this age do this to other kids ( typical or not)  but it really hurt my friend...honestly, it really hurt me to hear that too:(

What do you say to the "mean" kid's mom???

Thanks in advance!

-M

Re: Need advice for a friend

• I'm a lurking school psychologist, I hope my presence doesn't offend anyone since I don't have any lo's with a disability.

In my experience, when  child that age announces that they don't want to play with a child with a disability it has more to do with them not understanding what is going on with the other child not that they are choosing to be mean.  At that age they are still trying to make sense of the social world themselves and then there's this person who is there age that doesn't talk and might do some unusual things. I think it can be scary at times for them. 

I know for your friend it is very hurtful and she has a right to be hurt. However, the best thing she could probably do is start by having an honest conversation with the moms in the group about her child's condition b/c most likely the other moms are feeling the same as the little girl.  Most parents of typical children have no idea how to approach this topic with their kids and have their own mixed feelings about the child.