Two Under 2

Question for a mother of Two

Hi!

My name is Ariel, I am not yet a mommy myself (soon hopefully) but I am studying to become a Doula.  Every week I get assignments from my course that require interviewing women about pregnancy and birth.  I was wondering if anyone out there wouldn't mind answering a question to help me with my assignment.  Thank you!

Interview three mothers oftwo or more children about vaginal exams done in their labors.  Ask how many exams were done, when theywere done, how she felt about them and anything else that she would like totell you about her experiences with vaginals. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Question for a mother of Two

• I honestly felt like the exams were encouraging. They told me how much I had progressed, and helped keep me going. I did not notice them to be painful until the end when I was contracting hard and often. My OB was male, and there was a difference from him and my female (mother of 4) nurse while checking. My OB seemed to "dig around" more...It is also interesting how different people perceive your dilation differently. I had a nurse check and say I was 3-4 and the Dr. say 2-3....
  • I'd be happy to help, but I haven't yet had my 2nd baby. Good luck becoming a doula and a mommy!! :)
  • Loading the player...
  • Well, I could talk a lot about my exams with DS and have some very strong opinions about it...but I haven't had my second babe yet so I don't qualify...But let me know if you want to hear, anyway!
  • Mothers of one you can help too.  Thank you so much, I really appreciate the help!  

The best way for me to learn is by talking to moms.  :) 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I feel pretty strongly about my labor/delivery experience, and the details are in the link in my siggy. But I'll stick with the vag exams here...