Birth Stories

Bradley vs Lamaze

Hi,

Anyone use either of these. Opinions?

It's my first time pregnant and I'm a little freaked out about the pain factor of giving birth (I have low pain tolerance and I am a total wimp :)

And though I am not opposed to meds during birth, I would like to avoid them if possible. I was looking at the Bradley classes but my doctor is recommending Lamaze over the Bradley so now I'm confused.

Any opinions, suggestions, success stories about either are welcome.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Bradley vs Lamaze

• This is just my opinion based on what I've been reading in childbirth books, etc. I personally feel that Bradley classes would be more effective in helping you achieve a med-free birth.  

I went through Lamaze with my first but I knew I wanted an epidural so I wasn't focused on learning how to cope with pain, etc. I'm having my third in February and have read tons on natural childbirth and plan to go natural this time around.  

BabyFruit Ticker
  • From what I've seen and read on here Bradley would be more helpful in achieving a med free birth. You could post this on 0-3 or AP though- I know some women used Bradley....

FYI- I have a low pain tolerance as well but did go natural. It can be done. One piece of advice I could give would be to research research research!!! There were so many things preventing me from wanting drugs and it wasn't based on my pain level- if it had been just about the pain I definitely would have gotten as many drugs as I could have! LOL.... 

Loss #1 2008, Loss #2 2010, Loss #3 2011, Loss #4 2012, Loss #5 2012
    Loss #6 2014 Loss #7 (chemical) 2014

~DS Born! 2009~
    ~DD Born! 2013~
    ~DD due! 2015~

• Loading the player...