Nurseries and Baby Gear
Options

Changing Table -vs- Dresser/Changing Table

I'm a first time mom due in March and I am very confused about the whole changing table -vs- dresser/changing table. It seems like most furniture collections do not have a changing table but instead they have the combo. What confuses me most, is the safety of just putting a changing table pad on top of the dresser. Doesn't it move around like crazy? I don't know if it is confusing b/c I have never done this before but I am just super confused. Hopefully you guys can fill me in on this mystery. I would also be open to any recomendations for furniture collections that include old school changing tables.

Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Changing Table -vs- Dresser/Changing Table

• Options
    we opted for a dresser rather than a changing table simply so that we can use the dresser later on as a real piece of furniture.  the changing pad we got has the belt on it that then can screw onto the back of the dresser to hold it in place.  i also got one of those rug grippys to put underneath it to keep it from sliding around.
  • Options

I think changing tables are a waste of money since it is only used temporally, most are not very well constructed (from the ones I have seen). Plus I honestly believe the small "rails" that are kind of built in to the changing table will not prevent your LO from falling over if he or she was going to.

You can anchor the changing pad cover onto the dresser for extra security.

A lot of years and a million tears finally led me to you.
    After 7 years trying to concieve, 3 failed IUIs and 2 failed IVFs, my third IVF was a success!
    My Christmas baby turned into a turkey bird! Dillon Richard was born at 34 weeks, 5 days on November 28, 2009 after 10 weeks on bedrest for preeclampsia.
    <a href="http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v705/arriinthere/PJ/?action=view
  • Loading the player...
  • Options