Special Needs
Options

2 carriers for Cystic Fibrosis

Hello, It is my first time posting here.  My husband and I found out yesterday that we are both carries for cf.  We did some research, and are thinking we will do the CVS procedure.

I am looking for some feedback...on the CVS procedure,

feedback onboth partners be cf carriers,

and having babies with cf.

In advance thanks for sharing your thoughts...

Gen

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: 2 carriers for Cystic Fibrosis

• Options

Hi there - I can't offer advice on CVS, but I can tell you that we have some family history of CF and were tested before we got pg (only one of us is a carrier).  Our position, if we had learned that we were both carriers, was that we would go ahead and have a child and then if the child was a cystic we would do absolutely everything we could to get the best medical care possible.  Our family members with CF were wonderful wonderful people, and we can't imagine the world without them, so we hated the thought of choosing not to conceive or terminating a pg if we found out the baby had CF. 

Medical treatment for CF is getting so very good, and I know many CF families and physicians who believe that we'll have a cure within the next 10-15 years, which would be well within your child's lifetime (barring unforeseen problems).  Also remember that there are varying degrees of severity with CF.  I have a friend who has nearly no symptoms.  GL - I know this is a tough choice!

• Options

I have had CVS with both my pg's.  It really wasn't bad!

The hardest thing for us was that when we saw the baby on the U/S for the CVS procedure it became "real" for us and we decided we couldn't terminate regardless.  So depending on how you think you might feel about that, just be aware.

Anyway, the actual procedure: