North Carolina Babies

PSA: H1N1 Vaccine available in Triangle Area

Hi, I haven't posted here in awhile,but wanted to share a PSA.

I am a Kroger pharmacist, and just wanted to let you know we recieved 50 doses of the H1N1 vaccine last night around 7pm.  I went through 8 doses before I even closed at 9.....and I don't know how the word got out so fast!  But here's the information:

*By law, pharmcists can ONLY do 14 yrs old and up - so sorry no LO's.

*Each Kroger's was to receive 50 doses only (I work at the Wakefield one by the Marqui Movie theater)

*Cost is $10

*No appt needed- first come, first serve

*Each store may be different in their hours of operation, so check with the one closest to you, but we offer shots up to 1/2 hour before closing, hence:

Mon - Fri 8:30am-8:30pm

Sat: 9:30am-5:30pm

Sun: 12:30pm-5:30pm

I would also check with the Kroger's near you before going that they did get it (I'm assuming since we received our shipment, everyone did...)

Please keep in mind that we do not have an "extra person" on staff to do these shots....it is only the pharmacist on duty that day, who is also very busy this time of year filling prescriptions and counseling.  We work our wait times in along with prescriptions (so if our wait time for an script is 25 min, than the shot is also a 25min wait).  Expect a lilttle bit of paper work to fill out, and we have to process the claim in our computer system - that's what takes up most of the wait time. 

Also, if you want us to try and bill insurance that also takes awhile.  I must tell you most plans do not cover the vaccine at our site.  This is because as a pharmacist, I can only bill you drug coverage, and most drug plans don't recognize the vaccine.  Most likely it is your medical plan that will pay for the shot.  We can give you the paperwork if you want to try and get reimbursed later on through your medical plan.