Working Moms
Options

Did you consider being a SAHM, then decide to return to work?

I'm pregnant with my first, and planning on returning to work after maternity leave. I have an MBA and a great career, and I'm the primary breadwinner in the family. I've worked hard to get where I am and I'm in my early 30s...so I've been working for a long time! My career is on a great path and I'm pretty satisfied with it.

At the same time, there's this little voice inside of me that wonders if I'll want to stay home with my son when he's born. I like working, but I can't say I LOVE my job.

My problem is that my inability to look into a crystal ball and know how I will feel once he's here is crippling me. DH and I live in a small condo which we could afford on his income if I decided to stay home after baby. However, I don't want to live in a small condo forever and we would love to build a house and are starting to consider builders...but we would need both incomes to afford it long-term.

WWYD? Did anyone else think they might want to stay at home, then decide to return to work? What were your experiences like? Did you just kind of realize that you would go stir crazy not working, or was being home with your LO different than you thought it would be? Thanks for the perspective.

BabyFruit Ticker Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Re: Did you consider being a SAHM, then decide to return to work?

• Options