Pregnant after 35
Options

Not what I expected.

I think telling my mom about my + test so soon was a mistake.  The first words out of her mouth were, "Oh, were you trying?"  The answer is "yes" but I expected something more along the lines of  "congratulations" or "how wonderful".  The next thing she asked was, "will you take a year off of work?"  I'm a teacher.  I would have thought her second question was "Do you feel ok? or  When do you go to the doctor?"  We chatted about other things and before hanging up, she said, "well, I guess I should say congratulations."  I'm not sure if it's because of this hormone festival, but I feel disappointed.  She was so outwardly happy when my B and SIL announced their pregnancies.  I'll see her today at my nephew's 1st Bday party.

Re: Not what I expected.

• Options

When we told my parents that I was pregnant (as soon as we found out) and they were thrilled.  They both cried, my mom gave me something she had been saving for her future grandchild.  It was wonderful.  Then I lost the baby :(

The next time we were pregnant (this time) we told them the news.  It was NOT the same feeling at all.  Of course we were all nervous that the pregnancy would make it, but the enthusiasm about having a grandchild was completely gone. They hugged us and said they were happy for us, but my mom said maybe we should have waited before telling them. 

I'm just trying to say that I know how you feel.  Try to give your mom some time to let it sink in and don't let it bring YOUR excitement level down in the least.  I never told my mom and dad that they rained on my parade.  It's a distant memory now that they are so excited.  I bet your mom will get there as soon as she starts thinking about a new baby and you as a mother :)

Good luck to you.  And congratulations!!! 

PhotobucketPhotobucket Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options