Snarky and T-TTC

1st Counseling appt - What to expect?

I made my first counseling appt for this Friday.  I decided to go with someone affiliated with my church who specializes in "womens issues" instead of someone specializing in IF.

What should I expect from my 1st appointment?  Will it mostly be a get to know you kind of appt?  TIA

Fiona & Julia imageBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker 23 mos. TTC, MFI, IUI #1&2 BFN, IVF #1 = BFP!!!

Re: 1st Counseling appt - What to expect?

• I have no idea. I avoided going to a clinic that specialized in women's issues (but was affiiliated with my church) because I wanted someone who was board certified in gynecology at least and who had some IF experience.

Let us know how it is.

ETA: I read your post wrong. I didn't realize it was that type of counseling appt, I thought it was a medical appointment like seeing an RE. In that case, I have no experience but wish you the best of luck.

• You'll just answer a lot of questions about your family history, health history, current relationship...   you'll probably walk away feeling like a giant weight has been lifted too. 
  • Loading the player...
  • I met with a licensed clinical social worker who specializes in IF for the first time two weeks ago. I just told her my story and everything that was bothering me. It was like talking to a friend, and when I left I was like "hmmmm....what did I just do? I don't really feel any better."

I told the social worker at my CF clinic about this, and she said the point is more to have someone to vent/talk to, rather then to get some sort advice that will help you deal with things. (I wonder if it's different if you see psychologist or psychiatrist.) She told me to give it a few more tries.

I see the IF social worker again tomorrow, and I must admit that I am looking forward to the appointment.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers