Special Needs

Moms of kids with low tone

As of right now, DS's low tone is unexplained. The genetic and chromosomal tests so far are all coming back normal and everything else looks good. The neurologist said it's not severe, but to watch how he reaches milestones.

So my question to you is two fold:

1. Did your child have trouble reaching physical milestones? Did they/are they eventually meeting them?

2. What kinds of things did you have to do/are you doing to help them along? PT, OT, etc?

I appreciate any and all information you can give me. I'm a special education teacher and I thought I knew a lot about services and the process but I'm realizing I know nothing. :) Thank you. ?

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Moms of kids with low tone

• My DS is like yours, his low tone is unexplained.  So far gross motor is delayed but everything else (social,verbal,fine motor etc) is right on track.

He was late to roll & crawl and is not currently standing on his own or walking at 15mths.  He  has made TONS of progress with PT services.  At 10.5 months he wasn't doing anything, not even rolling much, and now he rolls, crawls, climbs up stairs, pulls to standing, and is cruising.  I can't say enough about the benefits of PT.  Our therapist is amazing and has really helped us. 

• image-auntie-:

The view's a little different from this side of the IEP table, no?

It certainly is. I know it's early and he's young, but I have to say that I'm seeing things I didn't before. I feel I was a good and understanding teacher before but I think this can only improve the way I write goals and hold IEP meetings. There's a positive in just about everything, I guess. ?

• Loading the player...