Austin Babies

ImmTrac?

When DS was born, some of the paper work I filled out included authorization to have his immunization records tracked in the ImmTrac immunization registry.  We signed up for it.

I was wondering if anyone else was asked about it when they had DC. Also, from the healthcare provider perspective, I was wondering if any of our resident medical gals have used it to retrieve immunization info on a patient.

Re: ImmTrac?

• We signed up for ImmuTrac too. They sent us a letter around 1 1/2 months reminding us it was time to get his 2 mo. vaccines. I didn't see a reason not to sign up for it at the time - it seems like a good and easy way to keep track of when he gets vaccines and what he gets, just in case I misplace my records or something.
  • As an ER nurse I have no knowledge of how to access ImmTrac, but in general it isn't of much use to us. We only ask if your kid is fully vaccinated through their age or they aren't - either cuz you're choosing an alternate schedule or you're somehow ignorant infants need to see a doctor after the day they're born. Yes, there are those people despite hospitals best efforts at maternity discharge.

Anyway, the reason it doesn't matter "much" is because most of what we see is common everyday illnesses or minor injury. Neither is a concern for immunizations except for tetnus but all you have to tell the doctor is "they're current through their 2 year shots" and our doctors have the schedule at hand and know if little Tommy needs a tetnus booster for having run one of his widdle fingers through the opening of a paper shredder ... hey, it happens.  Once in a blue moon we'll get a measles or rubella in a selectively immunized child. Chicken pox is still common too but we've seen it in kids who have had the shots for that so who knows.