High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

New Here--Introduction/MTHFR

Hi, ladies,

I just found out I am pregnant and am in the high-risk category this time around.  I was diagnosed with two blood-clotting disorders in February after losing our daughter when I was 18 weeks pregnant (the loss was due to fifth disease--I am a first grade teacher) but the other diagnoses were found as a result of all the testing.  I was diagnosed with MTHFR compound hetero (C677T/A1298C) as well as PAI-1 (4G/4G) homozygous.  I meet with my high-risk doctor on Thursday.  I am looking forward to a happy and healthy pregnancy with a lot of prayer and with continually replacing fear with FAITH.  If you are dealing with the same disorders, I welcome any and all advice, comments, or concerns.  I am not sure if I will need Lovenox injections or not.  I will be asking LOTS of questions at my appointment on Thursday. 

Re: New Here--Introduction/MTHFR

• Options

Congrats and wishing you a wonderful pregnancy. I have no experience with your specific risk but wanted to say hello and welcome!

• Options

Hey! I was diagnosed with compound hetero MTHFR after my 2nd m/c in February. I was put on foltex (B6, B12, and Folic Acid) as well as baby aspirin and my regular PNV. Although I'm technically at a higher risk for Downs and Sina Bifida, the doctors all told me it really wasn't that big of a risk.

I did recieve a level II scan instead of a normal level I just so they could take a really close look at the baby. I was given the all clear and everything looks great. I'm not even considered HR.

I'm not sure about the PAI-1. Good luck with everything! I'll keep an eye on this post if you have any questions, or you can always page me on the getting pregnant board.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

I'm guessing that since you have PAI-1 you will need Lovenox... sorry