Breastfeeding

Has anyone had success increasing their supply

after it was already established? I'm not even sure how to word this. I've been pumping for almost 9 months now. I took Reglan in the beginning to increase my supply and stopped when I had a freezer full of milk (still pump 4x a day). Well last month my period returned and now my freezer stash is almost gone. I'm not pumping anywhere near what my son eats in a day. As much as I hate pumping and can't wait to stop, I'm not ready yet.

So I guess I'm wondering if anyone had a dip in their supply and was able to get it back this late in the game? Am I crazy to even want to? LOL!

Re: Has anyone had success increasing their supply

• At 4 months pp I was down to pumping 8 ounces a day.  I have successfully increased my supply back to 24 ounces by taking a prescription of Reglan and pumping on a strict schedule.  My DS was sleeping through the night so I started getting up at around 3:00 a.m. and pumping.  I also eat oatmeal every day and drink tons of water.  Don't lose hope - everyone told me that I should just wean DS but I was persistent and thankfully was able to get my supply back up.  Good luck!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Thank you so much!!

• Loading the player...
  • Glad I could help!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'd try domperidone.  Jack Newman has great success with it (as have I with several clients) in helping mothers with low supply increase supply.  The side effects are pretty much nil...basically the one side effect you will see is that it makes you make more milk.  You can order from an online pharmacy (the one I linked to is safe).  I have seen it work miracles for several mothers with low supply.  Jack Newman is happy to answer emails if you have any questions about it.  He is a pediatrician, and runs the breastfeeding clinic at Women and Children's Hospital in Toronto.  his website is   drjacknewman.com