Breastfeeding

Breast Feeding must haves-pls recommend

Hi all. I am new to the BF form. I plan to BF the LO and would like to make sure I have everything I need in order to have a smooth BF experience. So far, I have

- Medela breast pump (since I plan to go back to work )

- Boppy nursing pillow

I am going to buy the Lanolin cream, soothing gels and nursing tanks. Would love to get recommendations for the best brands for the above and if I need anything else in addition? TIA.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFetus Ticker

Re: Breast Feeding must haves-pls recommend

• extra pump parts and collection bottles so you don't have to wash at work. Cheaper than the wipes or steam clean bags in the long run.

You'll want some nursing bras as well as tanks.

Otherwise just have the phone number of a good LC on hand  =)

My two PCOS miracles! Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • A good reference book - I really liked So That's What They're For.

I still wear nothing but nursing tanks.  The Target ones are great for around the house, sleeping and under things (they are cheap and comfy).  I also like the Glamourmom long tanks - well because they are long!  I'm small chested though so a tank is plenty of support for me.

I wear washable pads - I'm still leaking 6 months out and got tired of the plastic, crunchy sound of the disposable ones.  I used both Lansinoh and Medela pads - both were fine.  If you get washable ones, I'd recommend ones with a PLU backing so you don't leak through them.

Biggest must have for the early days - a comfortable nursing spot, someone to bring you food and drink, and something good to watch or read - you'll be spending a lot of time there!

• Loading the player...