Stay at Home Moms
Options

Help! How much do you spend each month on groceries/eating out?

Hi there - I was wondering if you guys could help me out! I have been tracking our expenses for about 4 months now and I keep finding that I spend about $450/month on groceries, and this is not including diapers or cleaning supplies. Then on top of it probably another $100 a month on pizza and takeout, and then probably another $150 a month of actually going out to eat. I am not too concerned about the eating out and take-out, but the groceries are killing me!

There are only 3 of us, me, DH, and my 14 month old son. I already shop sales when I can, try to shop at Aldi, use coupons if it is food I would normally buy, etc. The only organic I really buy are organic milk and yogurt for DS. I think my problem lies with all the fresh produce I buy, I buy lotstons of fresh fruit, veggies to snack on, and salad. I do buy a lot of frozen veggies for dinner though. I also try really hard not to buy a lot of processed foods (which are cheaper most of the time).

So, with that being said -

* How much do you spend on groceries each month and for how many people?

* How much do you spend on take-out foods like pizza, and then eating out as well?

* Any advice or tips beyond what I already do?

Thanks! 

Re: Help! How much do you spend each month on groceries/eating out?

• Options
    Its just us DH and me w/DD but we never eat out and that has saved tons. We spend on average $350 a month.
  • Options

Honestly, I'm completely sure but . . . if we ate out very much, we'd never make it.  We cook all the time.  Sorry.  Maybe others can eat out and do okay, but we can't.  ???

I do know that I spend about $150- $200 / week, but that usually includes diapers and "extra" purchases that aren't every week stuff.  Hope that helps.

• Loading the player...
  • Options