Infertility

Poll: Ever served on a jury?

I haven't. One time when I was supposed to serve, the court was closed because of snow. The other time, I went down to the court and watched the little video about how great jury duty was, but the lawyers were able to reach a settlement at the last minute, so they ended up not needing any jurors.

And in case you're wondering, the inspiration for this poll is that one of my sources had jury duty yesterday (I'm a journalist).

Re: Poll: Ever served on a jury?

• Yep.    I have.   while I was in college and home for summer break.    I was even voted Foreman.   :-)    It was just a one-day trial, but I consider it one of the most interesting experiences of my life.
    Brought to you by IVF, ICSI, limited fert, and oocyte cryopreservation.
    Because we're fancy like that.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I have served 2x.

Once was a crimial jury.  The defendant was being accused of aggrivated robbery, which in this case was robbery of a person older than 62.  Apparently an elderly gentlemen had dimentia and used to talk to the neighbors about when he got his pension check every month.  On the day he recieved it the local neighborhood thugs would show up, take him to the liquor store to cash it, buy him a bottle and then steal all of his money.  One night the neighbors saw the thugs rough the older man up and called the police. 

What complicated it was that the elderly gentleman was killed in his home the same night that he was robbed.  I'm guessing they couldn't pin the murder on the thugs so they pinned them with aggrivated robbery  instead.

We threw this human piece of garbage in the slammer for the minim 35 year sentence (3rd strike).  I would have put him away for more but the judge made the ruling on it.