New York Babies

Might lose my job... how to cope?

I'm a teacher in a district in Westchester and just found out that it's nearly definite that my job will be cut for this fall.  I am a bit freaked out, as we're new to the area, and with our baby coming, were relying on my job to be able to afford, well, life.  My husband just started his job 2 weeks ago, so hopefully that will all go well and we'll be alright.

My question is this- has this happened to anyone else here? What did you do? How do you go about finding a new job while pregnant, and then starting with an infant at home?  

I also run a photography business, so hopefully I'll be able to make some supplemental income, but who knows?

Thanks for the ear...  I just needed to get this off my chest.

Re: Might lose my job... how to cope?

• I was laid off right before xmas - and it was really really stressful at first, so I feel your pain. I was panicked because I knew no one would hire me being so far along in my pregnancy.  My DH and I moved to the city to take the job I had 8 months ago, so we are also new to the area.  I went to a few headhunters and they basically told me the same thing, with the job market the way it was going to be tough to get someone to hire me over someone who is not going on maternity leave.  I do know that it is illegal for them to ask you if you are pregnant, and you do not have to disclose that information.  However, the advice I was given was to not tell them you are pregnant until the final interview when you know that they want you. I have basically come to terms with the fact that I won't be working from now until the baby comes. I got a pretty good severance package and am collecting unemployment at the same time, so I am basically just saving everything I get to make it through at least the pregnancy and then I will start to look for a job after the baby comes.