Cincinnati Babies
Options

A Dreaded Topic - Episiotomy

Okay, so I'm trying to finalize our birth plan (I know, I'm a procrastinator - LOL); and I'm really struggling with this one.  Therefore, I'm asking for the help and expertise of you veterans out there.  I'm sure this probably isn't your favorite topic to discuss (I'm literally sitting here cringing, just thinking about it); but I can't put this off any longer and I need to weigh the options.

On one hand, I think that it is best to let nature just take it's course and hope for the best.  On the other, wouldn't it be better to leave it to a trained professional to make the call and do what is medically necessary?  I've heard horror stories, each way.  PLEASE HELP me to understand the benefits of both sides, based on your own experience.

TIA, ladies - you're the BEST! 

Re: A Dreaded Topic - Episiotomy

• Options
    I didn't have one and I got a second-degree tear.  Personally, I didn't do a written birth plan since I figured the doctor and nurses knew a whole lot more than me about childbirth.  Also, a friend whose labor went totally against her carefully planned birth plan told me not to bother since you just end up doing what's necessary at the time.  She felt her whole experience would have been better if she hadn't had an ideal birth all planned out in her head.  I had wanted to go natural, but when pitocin became necessary, that plan went out the window, and I was (and still am) totally okay with that.  So, I guess I'm trying to say to be open to change no matter what you plan.  For what it's worth, my tear wasn't a walk in the park, but it wasn't horrible.
  • Options

In my birth plan I put something to the effect of "unless medically needed no epi is to be given" blah blah blah.... also "The doctor should consult with me before giving"

I saw my sister doc give her a stage 3 epi after ONE push because he wanted to "hurry things up" He didn't even talk to her about it.