Special Needs
Options

XP: Feeding Therapy

Does anyone have an experience with feeding therapy?  We are going to be starting the program at Childrens hospital with DS next week.  He is 16 months old, weighs 18lbs 15 ozs and his percentile has been slowly dropping.  The dr said that his growth curve is becoming more of a straight line.  Any experiences would be great to hear.

Re: XP: Feeding Therapy

• Options

I'm a speech therapist and we often work with feeding. ?It sound like you are going to a hospital program specifically for feeding so I would assume everyone is well-qualified. ?However, you should generally be careful with new therapists, particularly speech therapists. ?

We are not required to be trained in feeding, and not everybody is. ?I personally do not do feeding simply because it is not part of my training or interests. ?In EI, service coordinators are supposed to tell the therapist that the child needs feeding help to make sure the therapist is qualified, but they don't always do it (especially if they are desperate to get somebody in the door). ?I have picked up a new client only to find out that they have feeding needs I am not qualified to address. ?I go back to the service coordinator and have them find somebody new....not everybody would.

There are many speech therapists who are AMAZING with feeding, and I have seen kids show HUGE results from feeding programs. ?Just be careful - not all speech therapists are equal, especially with feeding! ?Best of luck to you and your son - I hope that this program goes well for you!?

Lilypie First Birthday tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers imageimage
  • Options