Special Needs
Options

Fukking insurance companies

Marley's cardio has recommended that she get synagis shots in light of her recent heart issues.

Insurance will cover the cost of the shot- but only 80% because while we have met our?deductible?for 2009, we also have a $3000 coinsurance.I'm a nurse I don't get that. I mean, I ALREADY pay $300 a month for the insurance because it's COBRA. And it has to be COBRA because Marley is not eligible for private health insurance due to her "pre-exisiting medical condition".

Therefore I have to pay $620 OOP per month/shot!!!

So I called the Public Health Dept as they have a special program for SNC. The pharmacy that dispenses and administers the med may have a program available where I could pay a discounted amount. I looked into Medicaid but we are not eligible because DH and I both make too much money even though we haven't received paychecks yet (not until the end of the month) for our new jobs. So we don't actually HAVE any money yet.

I cried at my desk today. The upside is that I'll be getting new insurance April 1st through my new job. That covers everything 90% but only after I've met a $1500 deductible which will come out of my HSA. Of which I've elected to contribute the maximum amount- $4500 per year. With a SNC, I have no doubt that I'll use every bit of it.

Anyway, I just needed to vent. I'm so frustrated. I really can't understand why insurance companies make it so hard for sick, little babies to receive medical care. They make me sick.?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Fukking insurance companies

• Options
    Insurance companies suck!  I don't understand why they don't cover some medications that kids/adults need.  If a doctor wants them on a particular medicine, then the insurance company should have no say it in. 
  • Options