Babies: 9 - 12 Months

NBR: Are we crazy? House to apartment...

DH is a police officer and we have the opportunity to take a courtesy officer spot at an apt. complex. The rent and water are free. All we would have to pay for is electricity and cable/internet. It's a 3 bed, 2 bath but only 1100 sq ft. We currently own a 1700 sq ft 3 bed, 2 bath house. We are going to either sell or rent our house out to someone at the PD (for more than our mortgage payment) and save up money for a down payment on a much larger house. I know it's going to be really tough to go backwards for awhile but I think we can do it. Also, I'm a realtor so I see so many houses all the time. It will be hard not to fall in love with something when I think about going back to our tiny apartment! Are we crazy??!!

Re: NBR: Are we crazy? House to apartment...

• sounds like a great way to jump start your savings for the next bigger house.
  • How awesome does that sound!!! that's great.600sq ft...you won't even know the difference :)
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I don't think it's too nuts.  We lived in an 850sq ft townhouse/condo with DS before we moved to our house where we are now, and if we had to, we could have made it work. 

I think it sounds like a good way to get into something that is more of where you'd like to be later on.  Sure, it'll be tough- but it sounds like it might be worth it.

DS 06.26.08 DD 10.23.10
    imageimage
  • I don't think it's crazy.  It sounds smart.  The difference in space is doable.  Put some stuff in storage.
  • I don't. 

If it can get you where you want to be than go for it.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • I think it's a great opportunity, and one that can't come up very often. Take advantage of it.

And I'd rent, not sell. But I don't know what your market is like.

• imageTess12:
    I don't think it's crazy.? It sounds smart.? The difference is space is doable.? Put some stuff in storage.