Adoption

Birth mother question

I do not normally visit this board but I am frazzled as to where to turn.  21 years ago I gave birth to a baby girl who in the long run ended up being adopted (very long story).  The last time I saw "D" was when she was 3 in Dec. 1990.  Fast forward .... my two sons have been searching for their half sister for a while and on Facebook last night found her.  They have since sent her a message as I have too.  I do not want to invade her life but only want to know she is okay and has had a good life. 

Anyway, would you as an adoptive mother encourage or discourage the meeting of a birth parent to your adoptive child.  I know this has probably caught her off-guard but then I find out she has had a relationship with my mother and sister all these years (yet another long story that I am just learning).  Am I being unrealistic in hopes she will respond to us?  I feel like I have opened a wound up again and my DH worries i am going to get heartbroken by this.

Any words of encouragement?

Re: Birth mother question

• I would encourage her if I was her adoptive mother.

I don't think you should be concerned if she already has a relationship with other members of your family.  I would be more concerned about why they kept it a secret from you.

I hope it all works out well for you -- if you haven't already, don't be afraid to seek out counseling.

• Thanks MrsB!  Ever since last night I have been feeling like I am setting myself up.  My mother and I do not get along and when I was told the adoption was final, no one in my family was to have contact.  Little have I learned that they have and NEVER told me.  I have lived for 18 years wondering and praying.  I know that I made the best decision for DD as I could never have given her the life she deserved at that time - I was 20 and unmarried.
  • Loading the player...