High-Risk Pregnancy

A little pro-tip for ladies doing injections

I've been on 5-shot-a-day insulin in the past.  I'm also a recent nursing school graduate.  I used this tip on many patients and they all LOVED me. 

Now, this will only work if you have stretch marks.  So any ladies without them... sorry!  Us ladies with them finally get a benefit from them.  

My stretch marks are wide and kind of resemble tire treads!  lol

So... here you go.  Pinch the belly (this is for insulin and Lovenox people) and inject directly into the stretch mark.  There are no nerve endings there.  You won't feel a single thing.  Fortunately, for me... I have plenty (thanks genetics!) and I can rotate my injections and still be fine.   

Also, don't rub the sites after the injections.  (Especially Lovenox)  I notice some people mentioning bruising and knots.  This will exacerbate that.  Oh, and always press plunger slowly.  If not, you're shocking the tissue around it. Then it bruises or swells to heal itself. 

Let me know if it helps you.  The bigger the stretch mark, the better the results because the skin is completely pulled, in my case, so you can shoot it right in! Tiny stretch marks probably won't be that helpful.

Anyway... there you go.  Hope it helps!   

Re: A little pro-tip for ladies doing injections

• Thank you! My first night giving Insulin I didnt get any in, but didnt know how much made it in and how much didnt, so I didnt want to redose and then overdose. I somehow didnt get the trigger button pushed in when I pressed down. Second night I got it in and the trigger button down but it was hard. Its just such an awkward angle. Any tips?

• Thanks for the tip will try it
  • Loading the player...
  • Thanks for the tip, I am definitely going to try that tonight since I'm doing the dreaded left side. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
  • imagelucyspeople: