November 2012 Moms

Q for teachers - career change

I have worked in the government for 10 years...but over the next 5 years I have this idea/ goal of becoming a teacher...preferably in high school.

1. I've always considered teaching and am ready for a change

2. I would hope to teach government/ poly sci or something international relations focused.

3. I'd like to have a work schedule that will synchronize with my kid(s?) schedules and give me afternoons and summers home when they're older.

i live in Virginia. Where do I start with this?  I have a masters degree in pol. Science.  I'm thinking with my background private schools or charter might be more interested in me?   Will anyone want a new teacher in her mid to late 30s?  Do I need a masters in education from a big name school or anywhere?  How long will another degree take?

i appreciate ANY advice.... TIA

Me:36, DH:37

DS born 11/2012

BFP 7/26/14, Missed M/C at 8 weeks, discovered at 10 wks, 6 days, D&C 9/22/14, Dx: Partial molar pregnancy

Re: Q for teachers - career change

• I'm a career switcher, and I teach in WV.  Right now, I'm teaching on a temporary permit for Spanish, which I got from the state because I work in a rural county 30 minutes from home that desperately needs foreign language teachers.  I had a bachelor's in English, a minor in Spanish, and a MA in Writing/Editing.  My goal is to teach English once a position comes open.  With the English and Spanish background, I could get permits in either of those subjects.  To get and renew my permit, I have to be enrolled in a teacher education program and making at least 6 hours of forward progress each year.  At the graduate school near me, my options were a 24 hour post-baccalaureate certification program or a 39 hour Masters of Arts in Teaching.  I chose the MAT because it will get me a higher salary on the scales.