Natural Birth
Options

Introduction and "method" question

Hello all =) 

This is my first time here, I'm 20 weeks and really hoping for a completely natural childbirth. I've decided I want to go natural because I am notoriously sensitive and have had extreme reactions to all kinds of different medications, and while everyone tells me "no one" has a bad reaction to epidurals, I don't want to be that one exception, and be incoherent or worse when I get to hold my baby for the first time.

I'm registering for all of my classes, and am wondering if you ladies think it's necessary or better to try to follow a method, like the Bradley method, or to just go for it. My hospital/medical group doesn't offer a natural childbirth class, but they do have an "active labor" class.

I am open to all suggestions, can you let me know if you used a certain method or took a certain class, and if that worked for you?  Thanks so much! 

Re: Introduction and "method" question

• Options

I recommend some sort of natural childbirth education, where you learn about the process of childbirth to know the variations of normal and how to cope. Going for natural childbirth (in a hospital especially) with no education about what to expect is setting up for "failure" in my opinion (failure meaning accepting interventions when you really didn't desire that at the start).

We did bradley and like it.  It educated me about birth, and I am also a birth story junkie during pregnancy and I just soaked up story after story and got very good exposure of the various ways natural childbirth can be achieved.   We took the class and appreciate it, and it was a good way for DH to learn and ask questions. The book, Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way, is a great resource, as is Ina May's Guide to Childbirth.

• Options

I think preparation is key for most women to have a med-free birth.