Trying to Get Pregnant

Very faint line on test that goes away?

Hello :)

My husband and I have been TTC, and this month my period is one week late based on my average cycle (my period is irregular, but right about now is the latest I would ever get it).

I have been feeling mild pregnancy symptoms that could contribute to PMS. (very moody/emotional, put off by certain foods, nausea when thinking about certain foods and usually for the first half of the day, and fatigue).

I took a pregnancy test today, and I swear for a moment as the urine was making it's way through to the test line, I saw a very faint positive line that went away right away. After the three minutes was done, the next turned out negative.

Is it normal to see this faint positive line (VERY faint) before the test is complete, or is it impossible for it to show up if there is no hcg in my system? I'm wondering if I just tested too early?

Thanks for your help! :)   This is my first time TTC so if this is a silly question, I apologize in advance, lol.

Re: Very faint line on test that goes away?

• Sometimes, when a test is developing, the dye can pool around the test line. If it's gone by the time the time limit it over, it's a negative test. Sorry.
  • If there was no line after the 3 minute wait time then it's a BFN. The only way to truly know if your AF is late is to chart ovulation. You may have just ovulated late. 
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

Lilypie Pregnancy tickers 

BFP #1 6-8-11 EDD 2-19-12. DD born 2-3-12 via induction due to pre-e.
    BFP #2 9-7-13 EDD 5-22-14. It's a GIRL! DD#2 is on her way.
  • Loading the player...
  • Are you charting?  How do you know your period is "late"?

No, if it's negative, it's negative, but you can't know if you tested too early if you aren't charting.  You could have ovulated late or not at all.

If you don't get your p

Natural m/c Oct. 2005

Dx: balanced translocation and LPD

TTC since Oct 2011