Natural Birth

Pain Managment BESIDES Epi

So, I will be 42 weeks on Wednesday and it is a real possibility that I may be induced at the hospital.

I have stressed about this but I am now ready to approach it calmly and with a plan. I feel if I must have pitocin that I may want to take something for pain management at some point. I do not want an epidural and I am researching what my local hospitals offer besides, but I am really new to this and was hoping that someone could help me with common alternatives to epidural so that I know what to look for.

Someone who's birth story I read recently said that they were offered morphine. and it worked for them. I know some others may think me crazy but that sounds better than epidural. Still, what other options are usually offered at hospitals and have any of you had experience with alternatives to epidural? 

I'm planning on holding out as long as I can since baby is still healthy in there, but induction is now a possibility so I'm trying to prepare!

TIA!

EDIT: I just saw that my hospital of choice offers Nitrous Oxide and that seems like the BEST option to me if I feel I need pain meds IF I get and induction. Any experience or thoughts there?

Also, I don't plan on rushing into induction if I risk out of my homebirth before baby comes. I just want to have a contingency plan if it comes down to that somehow.

Thanks again!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Pain Managment BESIDES Epi

• I used nitrous oxide with DD1. It can make people nauseous. I sucked down on it and it made me feel terrible and woozy. Then my MW instructed me how to breathe effectively. From memory it was inhale the gas counting to 3 as contraction builds, then let go of the pipe and breathe normally.

It helped me, especially during pushing. But I didn't have it available for DD2 and that was fine too.