Working Moms

what movie/TV show most accurately portrays your job?

I'm a psychiatrist.  

During residency, I definitely thought it was "scrubs." 

Now, I would like to think it is "In Treatment," but it is probably more like "What about Bob."

Re: what movie/TV show most accurately portrays your job?

• God, I hope "In Treatment" wouldn't include his boundary issues.  That would be difficult and I thought a little unrealistic on how that was handled.

I'm a social worker, in child welfare.  Hard to say - unfortunately I think "Precious" really reflected the struggles with teenagers, especially with school, when they are sexually abused/a parent/in the system. I thought Mariah Carey's role in that was fairly accurate.

Unfortunately, I see it mostly in the media as a bunch of baby-snatchers or mean group home mothers (such as "Annie"). It's hard to say what my job is really like, since I'm more administrative, but House of Cards, the series on Netflix, has the wife running a non-profit. Not even close to the reality that I've seen. That is one fancy non-profit.

University of Kansas alum Geoff Folker applies food coloring to his snow sculpture at his home on Park Street in Olathe, Kan., on Sunday, March 24, 2013.  A storm that dumped up to 15 inches of snow on parts of Colorado and Kansas is making its way east, with winter storm warnings and advisories issued for today and tomorrow as far east as Pennsylvania. (AP Photo/The Kansas City Star, John Sleezer)

January OAD Siggy Challenge: Creative Snow Sculptures

• There isn't really a good one for me. Office Space? If Dilbert were a movie/TV show, maybe that?

In a previous job, I really did have to deal with TPS reports.

Duke's House: Eating and Running with the Big Dog in Chennai: eatrunbrit.com

imageimage

2010 Race PRs:

5K - 24:57 10M - 1:28:20 13.1M - 1:57:29 26.2M - 4:28:29

• Loading the player...
  • imageAgo: