Cloth Diapering

RNG not for cotton prefolds? Soap Qs

I'm new to this, and haven't diapered our babies yet (still pg).  I asked a cloth pro a question last night via email and she let me know she didn't recommend RNG for cotton prefolds (said it's fine for poly fleece fabrics with AIOs, pockets, etc.).  So, what do you ladies use?  I thought RNG was supposed to be a great choice for cloth, but apparently not due to oxygen bleaches (similar to OxyClean).  She said it can cause undue wear on your cotton and a shortened lifespan.   

I just bought a bag of RNG, and I use Method Free and Clear for our household laundry (which I also just bought 2 containers of).  I'm willing to switch, but I wanted to get advice from the CD board first.   

I'm wanting to use something that is good for sensitive skin babies, since DHs family has a history of babies with eczema and other skin sensitivities.   

Also, our local CD store confused the h*ll out of me when she said that I should only be using one type of laundry soap/detergent for dipes and household laundry.  She recommends stripping your washing machine between laundry switches, but I haven't found any instructions for that online.  If it matters, we have a Whirlpool Duet Front Loader.   

TTC #1 2+ Years with Unexplained IF
1st & Only BFP: 1st IVF w/ ICSI, 3dt of 2 7-cell, grade 2 embryos on 8/25/12
Beta #1 9/5: 87.2 BFP! - Beta #2 9/7: 248 - 1st US @ 6w3d Two Heartbeats! - MoDi Girls!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: RNG not for cotton prefolds? Soap Qs

• RNG made all my synthetic pockets repel within 2 weeks. That wasn't fun. I wouldn't recommend it for anything, but it was fine when I was using cotton for the NB phase. 

Most people use whatever for household laundry. Don't worry about that.