Blended Families

what would you do?

Since my daughter was born her BF has had LITTLE to do with her. We were both in college and he watched her for two hrs each week while I had night class. That was my senior year, once I graduated in May 2010 and moved back home he has not seen and/or asked about her. He was suppose to graduate in May 2010 as well but stayed in college for another 2 1/2 which kept his child support at a whopping $50 a month, which is rarely paid. 

I  started dating my husband when my daughter was just over a year old, we have been married for 6 months now. My husband is the only father my daughter knows. My husband has wanted to adopt my daughter for a long time. I just do not know how to go about it.

The first would be get a lawyer, and have no contact with her BF and hope he signs his rights away

2nd I could call him out of the blue and ask myself and kept lawyers out of it

3rd would be I could call his mom because she does have some connect with my daughter but my daughter just thinks of her as someone who comes once a year and brings her gifts and takes her swimming

My worse fear is if we open this can of worms that some how her BF gets visitation rights out of this...I want this for my daughter because it is the best thing for her and I also want my daughter to have the same last name as my husband and I  (she has my maiden name), her future siblings. II guess I am trying to find best way to about this...

BabyFetus Ticker

Re: what would you do?

• Many states are not allowing parents to sign their rites away. I live in one that will not allow a parent to do this.

Find that out first.

Second, get a lawyer - as you stated.  Many lawyers have a free first visit policy that allow you to consult them and if you come prepared with the right questions, they will be able to give you clear answers as to what direction you should go in - or you at least should come out of it with a much better idea.