Baby Showers

Here's one for you (cultural issue, apparently)

So, I work as an inventory control analyst for an after market car parts manufacturer.  I don't know that many people out in the plant, and most of them are Mexican with very limited English, so I couldn't speak to them anyway.  There are a few I know, and a few I've talked with on maybe 5 occasions.

One of the girls in the latter group just called my desk, and said that she has an invitation for me to her brother's wife's baby shower.  I do not know said brother or his lovely wife, yet I am being invited.  I BARELY know the girl who is bringing me the invite.

So, is this a cultural thing?  Because I have been invited to several baby showers here, by the Hispanic ladies, for people I don't know personally. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Here's one for you (cultural issue, apparently)

• It sounds like it most likely is.

The pearl clutcher in me would feel compelled to decline but send a gift.

Or, maybe you just have a nice face?

BFP 1- EDD 2/09/11 Missed MC DX @11 weeks D&C- 7/25/10 BFP 2- EDD 12/22/11 Natural MC @ 5w 2d BFP 3- EDD 1/25/12 DD Josephine born 1/16/12

Lilypie - (TUWi)

• omg can you say awkward.  politely decline but then their is that aching feeling you should send a gift. but then what if it happens multiple times......then your spending loads of money on people you dont even know.
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers
    j J
  • Loading the player...
  • Given that I've never even laid eyes on the MTB, or her husband, I'm going to decline without sending a gift.
  • I think someone responded to that race/culture post with something about the hispanic culture and lots of people being invited to events like that as the norm.

My SIL barely knew a guy she worked with and he gave her an invitation to his GF's baby shower. I think she sent a gift but didn't attend.

• image526SadieSadie: