Cloth baby smelling like pee all the time.. — The Bump
July 2013 Moms

Cloth baby smelling like pee all the time..

I've been babysitting my friend's newborn 5 hours a day for the last week while she deals with health issues.

The baby is cloth diapered and this is actually my first time cloth diapering a baby however I plan on doing this with my baby as well. I was happy to learn how easy the process was since I've been a little nervous about how I'd adjust.

Hooooowever, the thing is that this baby always smells like pee. Being that I'm a cloth rookie, is this normal?? She pees A LOT and I've been changing her after every pee which sometimes is 2-3 times an hour. Her diapers are nowhere near full, sometimes they barely feel wet but the smell is just so strong.

My MIL came over and I was telling her about it and she just laughed and said "get used to it, this is what cloth babies smell like. You new mama's are just use to the whole powdered pamper smell"

The baby is formula feed and I'm wanting to believe the formula could be causing her pee to smell so strong. I breastfed my son and I don't remember his pee smelling this strong...but then again we did use disposables.

Please shed some light on this if you've cloth diapered before. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Cloth baby smelling like pee all the time..

• Probably the diapers need stripping. This happened with us about a year in and a good stripping took care of it. And despite the fact that  you shouldn't, I always add baking soda to the wash ever since and my diapers no longer smell.
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickersLilypie Second Birthday tickersLilypie Angel and Memorial tickers

• I haven't had a problem with a pee smell in CDs. Like PPs said, are they old diapers that might need some extra cleaning?
    Formerly known as ms.mittens Jude 12/31/2008 Ezra 2/10/2011 Nora 7/23/2013 Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...