Babies on the Brain
Options

Talking it out - please opinions

Hello,

This is my first time posting here. Before I say what I want your opinion on I will give some background. I am getting married in August (the 3rd), and we have our own apartment. He has a steady job. He is making 30 thousand a year. I am still in school, but I will be done with my courses this year in December. Then I will walk in graduation ceremony in May. Our debt is about 5-9 thousand dollars which we have calculated we can get paid off by the beginning of next year. I have a part time job which isn't secure because they can fire me at any point because I am a seasonal employee. I just applied somewhere else part time as well, but it has to do with the career I am getting a degree on (Psychology). Until I am done with school I won't be able to work full time because my school schedule doesn't match with the needs of jobs available. 

We both have been talking TTC after I graduate. I am going to be 22 by next year, and he will be 25. we have talked to other people who tell us to do things that young people do. But there isn't anything we want to do except go skydiving. We know that having a kid obviously has a lot of responsibilities and brings stress into a relationship. We don't want kids NOW or right away after we get married. We want to wait a year after we get married. BUT I want to know..from YOUR perspective, what are things that we should do before we try to conceive?

ANOTHER big thing is that I am afraid I am not fertile because I had an abortion when I was 18. And I am afraid of going to my Gyno for testing specially since we don't intend on trying until a year or two from now. So, I am just asking for opinions based on your experiences on having kids in our 20's. Thanks, and sorry for this being so long.  

Re: Talking it out - please opinions

• Options
    Personally, I would want to be debt free, with a steady job and good insurance before even thinking of TTC.