Tennessee Babies

Home Daycare vs. Corporate

Hello,

I'm an early childhood teacher, so I've seen MANY different daycare programs and preschools. My husband and I were just surprised with the news of our first pregnancy, however. The game TOTALLY changes when you're the mom, so now I'm scared. Furthermore, I just moved to Tennessee from the midwest, so I'm totally foreign to this state. I need to do a quick survey:

Who's used a home based daycare? Are you happy with it?

Who used a corporate daycare? Are you happy with it?

I'm not asking for names of places, because I don't want anyone to feel uncomfortable. Please be honest about the pros and cons, however. Financially, my husband and I will both need to work full time, and we don't have family or friends here to help us with childcare. Your recommendations can really help us with our selection process. Thank you!

Re: Home Daycare vs. Corporate

• Here's my thoughts on home vs. corporate-- I've thought about this a LOT.

I always thought (before I had kids) that I'd go with an in-home because they had a lower ratio, which meant more time for the provider to focus on my kids. Well, I've changed my mind about that.

I've seen so many in home providers being overwhelmed, and stretched too thin. Even a provider of 4 or 5 kids would have a very hard time watching each and every one of the kids all of the time.

We have been using a "corporate" provider, but I made sure not to use a chain one. We use a center that is fabulous, and being that there are two teachers assigned to each classroom (at minimum), and they keep their ratios at state-levels, I know my kid is being watched. Plus, they are in one room, and they have state standards that have to adhere to. (which I'm sure in home does, too).