Blended Families

Sucks being the bigger person

Dealing with an ex with narcissistic personality disorder blows. We have split Christmas day early every.single.year. since ex started having visitation. Always by noon. It is ex's year and we agreed on Saturday that I would let ex have Christmas eve day, too, and that I would pick DS up at 11 on Christmas. Today I get email that he has changed his mind and I can't get him until 5. I know it's a matter of hours and I will just let it go. But I hate that if I even tell him how much it bothers me that he will take GLEE in it so I will just say nothing. But I'm wicked sad now. Ugh.
Stay at Home Mama to 3 Beautiful Children by the miracles of Birth & Adoption

Re: Sucks being the bigger person

• FI's ex-w has BPD... I'm somewhat new to understanding all this PD crap, but from what I'm getting I think they are in the same grouping of PDs... so I feel you.

I'm sorry you can't get your son until later, holidays are always a pain for us too.  I don't have much to say, other than you're not alone!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • imageMelRC117:

Why does he get to decide the time?

That stinks...thats pretty much the whole day :( Especially if you didn't have to also let him has Xmas Eve.

Well, it's technically his year for Christmas day, but we've always traded time early that day. I said he could keep him from Friday night through to Christmas morning on Tuesday (so instead of picking him up on Sunday afternoon he would stay on Sunday night). And I won't go back on my word, but DS is going to be upset and it's just petty. You know?

• Loading the player...
  • imageMelRC117:

That stinks...thats pretty much the whole day :( Especially if you didn't have to also let him has Xmas Eve.