April 2013 Moms

Dinners that freeze well?

I'm looking for suggestions of meals that freeze well, that I can make ahead of time and keep in the freezer, and then easily pop in the oven to heat up. I'm no expert in the kitchen, and the only things I've frozen so far are chili and meat sauce. I also love slow cooking so if you have any suggestions for meals I can prep and freeze in a ziplock and then just pop in a slow cooker that you like, I'd appreciate those too! I have more free time on my hands now and figured I'd like to test out some recipes so that I can prep and freeze them before the baby comes. I imagine that once the baby comes I won't want to be cooking anything from scratch, but I want to make sure we're still eating healthy home cooked food.

TIA for your suggestions!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Dinners that freeze well?

• Lasagna, burritos
    TTC since May 2012; BFP July 31st, 2012; EDD April 13th, 2013 BabyFruit Ticker BabyFetus Ticker Anniversary
  • Enchiladas freeze well. Mix up all of your ingredients (I use chicken, cheese, peppers, and sour cream), roll into tortillas, and stuff the pan. When you're ready to bake them, pour enchilada sauce on top and bake. 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

• Loading the player...
  • You can freeze and reheat nearly any soup. Some of my favorites include Chicken Noodle soup, Creamy Chicken and Rice soup, Lentil soup, Butternut Squash soup, Chili, Black Bean soup, and Potato Leek soup.

Allrecipes.com has lots of great soup recipes.

• imageRussianMommy:
    Lasagna, burritos

Anything Italian on Mexican should freeze well.  I would also stock up on hamburgers, bread (freezes great), and stuff from Stouffers you don't like to cook. 

image BabyFetus Ticker