Natural Birth

Getting Induced on Friday

Hi Everyone! I haven't really posted on this board before (actually didn't know it existed until recently) but I thought I'd reach out to you all to either get some advice (if you have any) or just vent.  

I am getting induced on Friday at 39 weeks due to PIH.  Up until two weeks ago I have been lucky enough to have a pretty uneventful/low risk pregnancy.  My husband and I studied the bradley method and planned on going med-free/natural.  I always knew there was a chance things wouldn't go as planned and in the end a healthy baby is all that matters, but it is still disappointing nonetheless, I can't help but be upset about it.  I've been doing everything I can to have this baby girl arrive before induction (from bouncing on a ball to EPO). Hey, I'll try anything at this point! My MW wanted to strip my membranes at my last appointment but I was completely closed/unripe. 

Anyways, if she doesn't make an appearance by Thursday, I will be admitted at 830 at night.  MW said she would try the balloon cath and cervidil  thursday night and Pitocin on friday morning.  She said I will have to be constantly monitored but I guess I could get hooked up to the telemetry?  Are there other things I should advocate for? Like a hep lock? I just don't want to be stuck in bed for hours.

Any experience going pain med free with pitocin? Any other advice or experiences you can share that may help? I felt so prepared for a med free birth now I feel helpless and don't know what to expect with all these changes! 

Thanks if you made it this far, sorry so long! 

Re: Getting Induced on Friday

• I was induced using pitocin with DS. I did a home study of hypnobirthing and was able to use that method to go drug free. I did ask for an epi but started pushing about 2 minutes later lol. I think a big part of my success was being comfortable with my surroundings and knowing I would be ok no matter what.