Secondary IF
Options

"It's time for another"

How do you deal with comments people make? Maybe it's just me but since DD turned 2 people feel like they have the right to ask me all the time when we are planning to have another, or to tell me that it's time to make DD a big sister. I know they are not doing this to be hurtful, but knowing now the struggles people have I would NEVER make a comment like that. I'm a teacher and will be going back to work this week and I already know I will hear this from my coworkers. A few people know what we're going through but I don't want everyone to know. I usually just laugh it off and say eventually.
Pregnancy Ticker

Re: "It's time for another"

• Options
    I've literally said to people "We'd love to. My body just doesn't seem to be on the same page." That shuts them up quick. It is frustrating people feel they have license to say things like that when they have no idea what's going on in your life. And even if we weren't dealing with IF, it isn't anyone's business when someone is ready to have a baby!
  • Options
    I have been feeling like that since right after my DD was born. People who don't know that our daughter is sick feel the need to ask all the time but actually since DD's diagnosis back in September 2011 people don't ever ask me now if we are going to have more kids. I guess people think we shouldn't, or wouldn't. 
    my blog
    Help me spread Urea Cycle Disorder Awareness!! 2011 DD diagnosed with UCD 2012 started process for IVF with PGD 8/9/12 started stims- 8/20/12 ER- 20 retrieved, 19 ICSI'D, 12 biopsied 5 viable unaffected embryos 8/25/12 ET-1 "awesome" embryo-9/4/12 1st beta- BFP with HPT at 7dp5dt- Beta #1 9/4/12- 210!, Beta #2 9/6/12- 465, First scan on 9/19/12 Baby Boy due 5/13/13- diagnosed with a single umbilical artery
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I say we'd love to but it isn't up to us. Before I had IF I used to ask people the same question.